Annual Mark Twain PTSA Awards


Golden Acorn Award

Each year our PTA gives the Golden Acorn Award to someone who has given exemplary service to children in our school community. The Golden Acorn Award is very special and is reserved for those committed to continuing and dedicated service. The first Golden Acorn Award was presented in 1937, and is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a PTSA volunteer in recognition of outstanding service to all children in the school community (not just an individual who has donated time to help his/her child’s class) or a staff member. It is to recognize volunteer service “above and beyond” a particular job description. The Golden Acorn Award may be won only once, and can be awarded to any PTSA member of our school.  

Bobcat Awards

In addition, Mark Twain Elementary gives Bobcat Awards to those who have given of themselves to Twain activities during the year. A person may be honored with numerous Bobcat Awards throughout their volunteer time here. The Bobcat Awards are:  

Bobcat Award for Outstanding PTSA Volunteer:  This person has been valuable to Twain PTSA in a variety of ways. They are always there to help with various projects and provide support on all levels. They may not be a committee team leader, but our PTSA could not survive without their help and enthusiasm. 
Bobcat Award for Outstanding PTSA Committee Work:  This person improved one of our PTSA committees in a very positive way. Their organization and work made a very positive impact on the students of Mark Twain. Having volunteers like them, who are willing to take on a committee and improve it, helps to keep Twain’s PTSA the positive organization it is. 

Honorary Lifetime Membership 

The purpose of the WSPTA Honorary Life Membership Award is to honor an individual who has made significant contributions to the development and growth of Twain PTSA.

Note: Honorary Life Membership Award recipients do not receive a free membership in the PTA that gives the award; recipients of this award need to continue to purchase their own PTA membership annually.

Outstanding Educator of the Year Award

The Outstanding Educator of the Year Award acknowledges the person who goes above and beyond the normal expectations of their job to make the learning environment fun, beneficial and challenging. An educator may be defined as a teacher, assistant, specialist, support staff, administrator or community member.

Other Awards

A number of other awards and recognitions are given to PTSA volunteers and those who support our children. These may include:

  • Rookie of the Year
  • Top School Spirit
  • Outstanding Staff Member.

There is no set limit or definition on the number or type of awards that may be given. Your input and suggestions will be carefully and seriously considered.

Please take a moment to nominate a special person for one of these awards.

Download Nomination Form or pick one up from the office.

Return form(s) to the folder marked “Awards” in the PTSA Mailbox located in the office By Friday, May 3rd or Email  Tanya Scharpenberg ( Line: PTSA Nomination Form).


2018-2019 Twain PTSA Award Winners

The PTSA is happy to announce the following award recipients for their hard work and dedication this year:

PTSA Award winners 18-19 


2018-2019 - Washington State PTA Awards

The Twain PTSA was awarded the Gold Standard of Excellence Award by the Washington State PTA.

This award recognizes the use of best practices in PTA management by demonstrating across multiple criteria that we (1) are child-focused and responsive to our membership; (2) practice fiscal and fiduciary responsibility; and (3) have leaders that are knowledgeable, involved and well trained.

We are grateful for every member that has given their time, energy and skills to serve our community of parents, teachers, staff and students - we could not have achieved this award without you!


The Twain PTSA was also awarded the Platinum Membership Growth Award by the Washington State PTA.

The Platinum Award recognizes Twain PTSA for enrolling PTA members equaling at least 120% of their previous year’s total membership. 


2017-2018 Twain PTSA Award Winners

GEM ("Going the extra mile") award- Angela Meekhof

"Wild about Books" award –Cathy Schwartz and Heather Buchholz

"You Rock" award —Richard Rundle

"You Rule”—Elizabeth Fortman

“Bobcat Award for Outstanding Volunteer”—Shelly Lish

“Outstanding Committee Work”—Regina Ball

“Honorary Lifetime Member”—Naomi Urban

“Golden Acorn”—Molly Honig